What I Heard

devotion is staying

regardless of what I do

no matter how many times you slam

yourself into the wall that is me

the changing terms should not

effect your affect for me

I know when you are done

ready to throw up hands and run

it is time to change

just enough so you stay

this isn’t crazy

this is love

show me your devotion

don’t leave me even when I ignore you

don’t give you what you need

because I need you here

to feel okay

I will say what i think you need to hear

I will make effort to please you

but only when you threaten to leave

and then say that you are not the devoted one

your patience for years

your fighting to make things work

even when I did not engage

your staying in my life

even after you left me

that is not devotion

devotion is staying with me

not throwing in the towel

keeping me happy

at the expense of yourself

Leave a Reply

