Past the Looking Glass and Under the Door

I not long ago found a door

so tiny and wee

only a mouse could fit through

but still it seemed meant just for me

I folded and bent

seeking to shrink

craving the other side’s garden

with failure my spirits started to sink

soon I discovered instead

I was the sea!

ever flowing, ever moving

both gigantic and small as could be

the wild wind sang and I danced

waves twirled and spun

in my joy, I quite forgot gardens

until I found my legs again, while I was spinning inside one

I looked ’round for the door

all brownish and blue

now sitting open and surprisingly huge

smiling, I turned, knowing this was my cue

2 thoughts on “Past the Looking Glass and Under the Door

Leave a Reply

