A Faithful Steed

my heart has carried me many places

places it didn’t know I need to go

places I certainly did not want

I have found secret things

shouted them from the tops of my soul

I have found broad truths I couldn’t see

my heart has been a faithful steed

even when fickle and shying away

from imagined hazards

even when so sick it cannot do anything

but stand and weep, licking wounds that I inflicted

even when I broke it apart so completely

that it had to rebuild itself

glass dust into magnificent home

sometimes I am foolish

not guiding it, afraid of the path it chooses

but then,

that is how I find the new places.

Leave a Reply

