Peas for Princesses

i found myself in a familiar place

made unfamiliar by time

small sounds run roughshod

over nerves swollen and furious

it is a hellish place

anger, frustration, guilt

wrapped in poisonous sandpaper

i used to live there

constantly immersed in petty rage

confounded by my inability to step out of it

i found a path and followed it to myself

unfettering the angst

releasing myself from my prison

occasionally I slip back through the door

rarely now, but all the more unpleasant for it

when I return to peace

i feel the residue

the need to apologize

for finding myself in that place

realizing there are a few small things that protect me

that if I seek them out

i shall stay well

Leave a Reply

